Accredited institutions

An accredited higher education institution is granted the right to offer educational provision, without having to apply to NOKUT for specific (programme) accreditation, in accordance with the powers that its institutional category implies.

There are three categories of institutional accreditation in Norway: Universities, Specialised Universities and University Colleges/Universitites of Applied Sciences.

All institutions with accredited study programmes may call themselves University College.