– We contribute towards quality assurance and enhancement in education


The Centres for Excellence in Education Initiative (SFU)

The Centres for Excellence in Education Initiative ('SFU-ordningen' in Norwegian) is a prestigious national initiative for higher education that was established in 2010.

SFU status is awarded to academic communities that have already demonstrated excellent quality and innovative practices in education and that have plans in place for further development and innovation. One of the important requirements the centres have to meet is that they must disseminate their results and knowledge.

Four new centers were awarded SFU status on 1 November: CCSE, CEFIMA, ENgage and EXcITEd.

The expert committee chose nine finalists after the first application round, and after the cite visits at the institutions the committee agreed to award four new centres. The new centres were announced on 1 November 2016, and are located at the University of Oslo, Lillehammer University College and NTNU.

Read the expert panel’s feedback:

More information about the new centres will be published soon.

Read more about the call for applications for 2016.

There are currently eight Centres for Excellence in Education:

Read more about the SFU initiative